Boutique Hotel d’Oude Morsch

Contact

Address:
Boutique Hotel d’Oude Morsch
Park de Put 1
2312 BM LEIDEN
Plan your route
Boutique Hotel d’Oude Morsch

Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch opened in the summer of 2016. It is a historic, but contemporary hotel on the edge of the center of Leiden. Shops, museums and the station are nearby and cars can be parked in the (guarded) Morspoort parking garage opposite the hotel. The hotel is located in the former guard building of the Morspoort barracks and overlooks a city park, a windmill, the historic harbor, the birthplace of Rembrandt and a historic city gate. All 18 rooms are different and offer a unique atmosphere.

The Morspoort, located on the Morssingel, is one of the …

Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch opened in the summer of 2016. It is a historic, but contemporary hotel on the edge of the center of Leiden. Shops, museums and the station are nearby and cars can be parked in the (guarded) Morspoort parking garage opposite the hotel. The hotel is located in the former guard building of the Morspoort barracks and overlooks a city park, a windmill, the historic harbor, the birthplace of Rembrandt and a historic city gate. All 18 rooms are different and offer a unique atmosphere.

The Morspoort, located on the Morssingel, is one of the two remaining city gates of Leiden. The city used to have eight of them. It has been the western city gate since 1611. Originally it was made of wood, but in 1669 it was decided to make a stone city gate so that it could be used again. The gate owes its name to the former environment. At that time the area around Leiden was a swampy meadow area, which was called De Morsch (meaning: swamp). The Morspoort is located in the neighborhood d'Oude Morsch, which also refers to this old swamp. Popularly, the Morspoort is also called the Galgepoort, because it used to be a prison. The gate and accompanying bridge are both national monuments.

The Morspoort barracks were built in 1817 on the Galgewater. The infantry and mounted parts stayed here until 1940. After that, the training to become a corporal chef of defense settled in the barracks, until it was moved to Haarlem in 1981. The guard building is the only part of the barracks that has not been demolished. The building owes its name to its former function.

The entrance gate to the barracks, which was guarded by a guard, was located at the guard building.

The rooms of the new characteristic hotel have a beautiful oak floor, a relaxing rain shower, luxury box spring, TV, free WiFi, minibar, safe (suitable for laptop), coffee (Nespresso) and tea making facilities and a beautiful view. Some rooms have a bathtub. In the restaurant and on the terrace, guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch or a drink.

Leiden Central Station is an 8-minute walk from the hotel and the A44 is 5 minutes by car.

Attributes

Location

  • In the centreYes
  • In/near urban areaYes
  • In/near museum districtYes
  • Distance to train station: 0.5 km

Accommodation

  • Type of building: Historic building
  • Type of accommodation: Hotel

Facilities (General)

  • Restaurant (for guests)Yes

Facilities (Accommodation)

  • Safe in roomYes

Facilities (Hotel)

  • Minibar in roomYes

Capacity

  • Number of rooms: 18

Take a look

Location